Jivamukti Yoga – Trial

A few days ago I completed a trial month at Jivamukti Yoga Berlin. They have a special offer for people who are interested in getting to know the school and is possible to buy an unlimited 1 month pass for quite cheap on your first visit in one of the studios. I randomly found the school online and thought this offer was quite interesting so decided to give it a try, even though I knew nothing about Jivamukti Yoga.

Basically Jivamukti is a method which reintegrates the physical, philosophical and spiritual aspects of yoga. It was developed by David Life and Sharon Gannon in 1984, both pupils of well know teachers Shri Brahmananda Sarasvati, Shri Swami Nirmalananda and Shri K. Pattabhi Jois. Jivamukti focus not only in the asana practice but also in meditation, devotional chanting and the study of ancient texts; practices often forgotten in most of the westerners classes.

On my first day at the studio I had one of the best Yoga classes I’ve ever done in my life until now. It was a special day with an extra long class focusing on chakra balancing with advanced teacher and founder of the Berlin branch Anja Kuehnel. It was Easter holiday so she read a very interesting text about resurrection and letting go of attachments, followed by sun salutation warm up with a very emotional soundtrack. During the asana practice we chant the mantras lam vam ram yam ham om, which are the sounds of the chakras, while holding some postures for longer and meditating on specific aspects of our lives. I left the class in a complete blissful state. I was very impressed with this yoga style and just grateful I would be able to practice this again the whole month.

From the 30 days pass I guess I skipped only 3 days as some resting was needed. I just wanted to make the most out of my unlimited pass and try all the classes of the two studios. It was a very intensive month, not only physical but also mentally and emotionally. Everyday I had a new discovery, the teachers were very inspiring and had great teaching skills and technics. I can even say I learned a lot about adjustments, as in some classes we partner up with other students in order to practice some specific asana.

Apart form the Open classes and the Open (M) which is a less intense version, the school also offers a Basic class which is quite slow and teaches the basics of Jivamukti practice and sequencing; even though this class suppose to be for beginners it was very interesting as it really focus on the perfect alignment of the postures. I also experiment one class of Restorative yoga and a few Ashtanga classes which is offered only at the studio in Mitte. The Ashtanga teachers Dan and Asta Caplan were absolutely amazing, I loved their adjustments technics, the Mysore and LED classes I attended with then were so good it really inspired me to go back to my Ashtanga practice. Last but not least the school also has twice a week a Satsang with meditation and kirtan.

Needless to say I absolutely loved and recommend Jivamukti Yoga Berlin, unfortunately at the moment my budget doesn’t allow me to continue in this school paying the normal prices, but I’m very grateful for this month experience and all the knowledge and self development I got from it, my practice really improved in many different ways after this trial. From what I learned during this month experience, Jivamukti is a very interesting Yoga style and it definitely became one of my favourites. The combination of yoga philosophy, chanting mantras, meditate and asana practice in one class really brings together what Yoga really is about.

 

Leave a Reply

